Post Messenger Recorder -

Post Messenger Recorder PMR New Glarus Monticello Belleville News Publishing

WIAA Winter Team Tournament Sportsmanship Awards Selected

New Glarus Knights Award Recipients for Boys Basketball


April 18, 2019

Sue Moen

The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association, in cooperation with Rural Mutual Insurance, has chosen the recipients of the team sportsmanship awards for the 2019 Winter State Tournaments.

The winners of the prestigious sportsmanship recognition are Marshall in girls basketball, Ellsworth in team wrestling, New Glarus in boys basketball and Mount Horeb in gymnastics. Although no recipient was recognized in girls hockey, the D.C. Everest Co-op, which includes D.C. Everest, Marathon, Merrill, Mosinee, Wausau East and Wausau West, and the Sun Prairie Co-op, which includes Sun Prairie, DeForest, Madison East, Madison La Follette and Waunakee, received honorable mention for the award. There was no sportsmanship award recognition awarded in boys hockey this year.

New Glarus displayed outstanding sportsmanship with visible administrative oversight and encouragement in winning the Division 4 championship at the State Boys Basketball Tournament. After a 44-41 victory over top-seeded Roncalli in the semifinals, the Glarner Knights downed Lourdes Academy 67-62 in the championship game. It is the second time New Glarus has been chosen winner of the sportsmanship award. The Glarner Knights earned the honor with Belleville in a co-op arrangement in girls soccer in 2016. Bangor, Columbus Catholic, La Crosse Central, McDonell Catholic, Northwestern and Roncalli each received honorable mention for the award.

The WIAA/Rural Mutual Insurance sportsmanship award is presented to one school and community in each of the State team tournaments that exhibits exemplary sportsmanship. The award winners are determined by the conduct and sportsmanship displayed by athletes, coaches, cheer and support groups, mascots, bands and spectators. Additional consideration is given for the effort of school administrators and chaperones to ensure support for their teams are positive and that the highest ideals of sportsmanship are featured. Award winners receive a trophy and banner in recognition of the honor.

Schools receiving honorable mention are acknowledged with a certificate of recognition. The selection process includes contributions and evaluations from contest officials, tournament management, police and security personnel, crowd control and ushers, WIAA staff members, area hotels and restaurants. Rural Mutual Insurance has been a sponsor of this award since 1965, and their partnership contributes to the promotion of sportsmanship in education-based athletics as a valued corporate partner of the WIAA.


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 10/05/2019 13:44