Post Messenger Recorder -

Post Messenger Recorder PMR New Glarus Monticello Belleville News Publishing

Eleven Area High School Seniors Earn DAR Awards


May 23, 2019

Photo courtesy of Athleen Schenk

From left: Barb Nemec, Chapter Regent for the Colonel Benjamin Harrison Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution; Jeffery Saether, Good Citizen winner from Pecatonica High School; Emily Streiff, Good Citizen winner from New Glarus High School; Libby Beck, Good Citizen winner from Albany High School; and Christie Strait our chapter Good Citizen Chairperson and Chapter Registrar for the Colonel Benjamin Harrison Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution.

Members of the Col. Benjamin Harrison Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution honored some of the DAR Good Citizen Award winners from area high schools on April 9th, at a luncheon at Monroe's Pizza Hut.

The DAR award is based on recommendation of the Guidance Dept. of each high school and considers grades, community service and involvement in activities at school and in the community. All the students receive a pin, certificate, and a card recognizing their Good Citizen qualities. The students may also write an essay on a question of national significance that relates to current events in American history. The essay is written without references and it is submitted to a panel of judges. The local judges read each essay plus look at their classes they have chosen in high school and their grades, their activities and volunteer work in their community, their future plans, their extra-curricular activities and the Good Citizen Qualities. The winner of the essay contest from each chapter is then submitted to the state level. State winners are considered in the DAR National contest.

The local DAR Good Citizen Award recipients for 2019 are: Libby Beck, Albany High School; Alexis Leigh, Argyle High School; Hunter Bredeson, Black Hawk High School; Ann Cerjak, Cuba City High School; Bethany McDonald, Darlington High School; Lindsey Pence, Monticello High School; Emily Streiff, New Glarus High School; Jeffrey Saether, Pecatonica High School; Kaylee Reuter, Shullsburg High School; Nicole Kamholz, Juda High School; and Zoe Tresemer, Brodhead High School.

The local winner of this year's essay contest was Bethany McDonald from Darlington High School. In addition to the pin, certificate and card she also received $100 from the chapter for her future education.

The state winners this year were first place scholarship contest winner Adrian Mayagoitia from the Stevens Point Chapter; second place winner Zachary Michael Teplin from Annis Hill Chapter and, the third place winner Jamal Louis Hanson from the Kenosha Chapter.


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019