Post Messenger Recorder -

Post Messenger Recorder PMR New Glarus Monticello Belleville News Publishing

Big Bullies Cloud Results


September 19, 2019

Photo courtesy of Steve Wehrley

NGM Cross Country's Annika Ziperski, Medal Winner in Large School Division at Spring Green CC Invitational.

Called the Little State Meet, the Saturday race on the Spring Green Municipal Golf Course brings forty-some Division 2 and 3 cross country teams ready to test their mettle. Also in the mix, three big Division 1 schools who dominate the race and cloud the results for those who wish to know where they stand against their smaller peers. Thanks to the miracle of the spread sheet, we magically erase Madison LaFollette and their ilk and estimate that the New Glarus-Monticello Varsity boys end 1-point behind Mount Horeb, 4 points ahead of Dodgeville/Mineral Point and substantially in front of the other 15 D2 teams.

Leading the theoretical second place NGM'ers: Adam Nelson (17:38), Joe Quaglia (17:45) and Tom Nelson (17:52) all staying in the 17's. Evan Guenther (18:16) and Conor McCoy (18:27) race in the 18's with Ty Ready and Garrett Grossen (19:12) following in low 19's. Motivating our varsity runners are the fast times posted in an earlier race by JV's: Logan Blum (19:25), Linden Lounsbury (19:35), Bradon Ryan (19:41), Beckett Malaise (19:54) and Desi Delforge (19:57) who break the twenty minute barrier and, after removing the Division 1 bullies, finish first of all junior varsity teams.

The remainder of our JV, Aiden Runkle (20:44), Ian Schwartzlow (21:03), Griffin Ness (21:14), Collin Blum (21:48), Lucas Fink (23:53), Ray Valentine (24:47), Landon Schneeberg (25:03), Carter Ness (26:30), Eric Zielinski (26:42), and Triston Koch (31:01), if representing their own junior varsity team, finish a solid mid-pack.

The New Glarus-Monticello ladies finish eleventh of twenty-one schools entered in the Large School Division. Freshman Annika Ziperski (21:44) receives a Top Twenty Award as she pulls Tenley Faber (22:23), Dayna Karls (23:09), Whitney Disch (24:28), Molly Molencamp (24:42) and Alexa Thayer (26:24) through the race with fastest times of the year.

Representing NGM today we see five middle school boys competing. Despite running against an army of 244, our guys finish 8th of 19 complete teams. Breckyn Thompson (9:11), Tanner Gardner (9:34), Owen Runkle (9:35), Dylan Baker (10:52), and Michelangelo O'Brien (18:55) make-up this handsome team.

The Middle School Ladies score 11th of 18 teams in a pack of 247 individuals. Lucy Melvin (11:00), Emma Martinson (11:19), Sophie Stecha (11:33), Camryn Arnett (11:47), Ella Skidmore (12:01), June Lounsbury (12:26), Carlee Rodebaugh (12:28), Elena Marunde (12:32), Emma Mondloch (14:07) and Devi Duerst (16:14) make-up today's NGM contingent.

By the time you relax with your coffee to read this paper, the team's Tuesday race at the Marshall Invitational will be in the past. You'll want to check the results next week because, according to philosopher George Santayana, "Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it."

We doubt many people want to run even a single of our 3.1 mile races, much less repeatedly.


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 05/17/2020 00:23