Post Messenger Recorder -

Post Messenger Recorder PMR New Glarus Monticello Belleville News Publishing

By Stan Hook
League Reporter 

Sugar River Euchre


December 19, 2019

Photo courtesy of Stan Hook

Front Row (L-R): Marvin Thompson, Barb Judd, Ferdie Schmitz, Jerry Judd. Back Row (L-R): Randy Schmid, Don Field, Randy Skogen, Keith Wenger, Larry Losenegger, Jim Day and Roger Olstad.

Twenty-four Sugar River Euchre players took part in the League's Mid-Winter Tournament at Norsk Golf Club in Mount Horeb on December 12, 2019. A good time was had by all and the Norsk Golf Club staff did a fantastic job catering to our every need including an amazing pizza buffet at the end of the night.

Once everyone found their respective seats at the beginning of the evening, we could tell this was going to be a good night as the league officers sat and discussed the evenness of the pairings. Several couples started off strong but quickly faded away by the hot hands of Chris Hook, Steve Dower, Randy Schmid and Keith Wenger, who were perfect after four games. That, however, was about to change as Keith and Randy approached table one, the table where Chris and Steve were seated. The winner of this game would take over sole possession of first place. Unfortunately, Chris and Steve were on the losing end, and with only 3 points allowed by Randy and Keith, Chris and Steve fell from a tie for first to a tie for 5th. Randy and Keith were looking hard at the winner's circle now, thinking that all they had to do was hang on for three more games. Jerry Judd and Roger Olstad, however, were having none of that, they were only 7 points off the lead and knew they had a chance. They were right - by the end of the eighth and final game, they had pulled even with Randy and Keith to tie for first place with 111 points. Ferdie Schmitz and Barb Judd, with 108 points, barely slid into 3rd place, just beating out Jim Day and Larry Losenegger who finished with 107. Don Field and Randy Skogen completed the top five places with 104 points. As for the rest of the players: Mary Humphrey and Dean Disch had 101, Tony Hoffman and Opie Taylor finished with 100 points, as did Dave Herfel and Derek Skogen. Chris Hook and Steve Dower, after leading early, ended with 96 points; Leo Humphrey and Marvin Thompson had a 94, while Tiny Zander and Jeff Judd were able to scrape together 92 points. It was Bruce Milestone and Harold Grabandt who brought up the rear finishing with an 84.

At the end of the night, League President Jerome Krantz announced the tournament winners and awarded trophies for the 2018/2019 season. The traveling League Championship trophy went to the Norsk Cowboys with each team member also receiving an individual trophy. The 2018/2019 Cowboys consisted of: Captain Don Field, Dean Disch, Steve Dower, Roger Olstad, Harold Schlimgen, Randy Schmid, Ferdie Schmitz, Marvin Thompson and Dave Willborn. By the way, they have already secured a spot in the 2019/2020 championship match. Perfect score trophies went to: Don Field (2), Dean Disch and Marvin Thompson. Jack Gehin took home the high average trophy, with an average of 104.067.

The second half is scheduled to start on January 2nd, with a new team added to the mix. The Tyrol Trolls will call Tyrol Basin their home, with a 7:00 p.m. available start time. Welcome Trolls!

Schedule for January 2, 2020: Riley Mounties @ Kleeman's (7:30); Norsk Pranksters @ J&M Bar (8:00); S'Wisco Taphaus @ Norsk Cowboys (7:00); Harley Blue @ Jones' Plumbing (7:30); Tyrol Trolls @ Riley Shufflers (7:00).

Correction – in the December 12th article I mistakenly listed Pipe Benders' Ryan Arneson and Jerome Krantz with 114 points. It should have read Jerome Krantz and Tiny Zander.


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 08/08/2020 09:19