Post Messenger Recorder -

Thanks to All Who Attended NGSD Annual Meeting


August 25, 2022

Dear Editor,

Thank you to New Glarus School District community members who attended the New Glarus School District Annual Meeting on Monday evening, August 15. The Annual Meeting is the opportunity for district voters to discuss and vote on the tax levy for the coming year.

For the eleventh year in a row, the New Glarus School Board recommended, and the voters approved, no increase in the current property tax levy of 11.63 mills per $1,000 of valuation.

New Glarus School Board members include Vice President Larry Stuessy, Treasurer Travis Zimmerman, Clerk Corrine Hendrickson, and Directors Cari Ann Muggenburg, Casey Umhoefer and Ron Roesslein. We are working closely with District Administration - led by Dr. Jennifer Thayer - to control costs despite unusually high inflation. Unlike many school districts in our region, and across the state, we will not seek to raise 2023 property taxes through an operating cost referendum. We are also continuing the policy of providing school supplies to students at no cost and to waive nearly all sports fees.

Finally, Dr. Thayer will provide all district residents with an update on the district building projects in the district newsletter, which should arrive before the end of August. The cost of the new Primary School, the tech/ed addition to the Middle and High Schools, and Elementary School renovations will not increase the current mill levy.

We welcome back all students, teachers and staff as the new school year begins and hope this will be a productive and enjoyable year for everyone.

Go Knights!


Bill Oemichen,

New Glarus School Board President


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Star News
Post Messenger Recorder
Times Tribune

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022

Rendered 02/01/2023 00:17